The Reed of God. Caryll Houselander.
The Reed of God
The Reed of God
The Reed of God

The Reed of God

London: Sheed and Ward, 1944. Second printing. Small octavo, original green cloth, original dust jacket. Book about-fine, dust jacket with only a touch of wear at the corners and spine ends. A lovely copy. Item #430

"OUR LADY SAID 'YES' FOR THE HUMAN RACE. EACH ONE OF US MUST ECHO THAT YES FOR OUR OWN LIVES" Second printing of Houselander's Marian classic, the follow-up to This War is the Passion (1941). Printed in the same year as the first edition, this copy complete with the bright and elegantly lettered dust jacket by George Mansell. Caryll Houselander was discovered by Frank Sheed and she went on to become one of Sheed and Ward's most popular authors. The Reed of God is composed of four sections. Each one of the sections includes a poem: Pastoral, Wooden Bambino, The Last Confession, In 1940. As one of her biographers has stated: "Caryll Houselander’s legacy...includes much more than a few devotional works, good as they are. Her impact, both literary and personal, was due above all, to the intensity of her vision of the suffering Christ, a vision she expressed with utter sincerity and immediacy and, on occasion, with breathtaking luminosity. Indeed, she can best be described not as a writer, nor even as an artist, but as a mystic and a visionary in the tradition of Julian of Norwich, Catherine of Siena, or Teresa of Avila." (Margot King). Dedicated to "David and Archie" and accompanied by a passage from The Akathist Hymn. The back panel of the dust jacket contains reviews for This War is the Passion, Houselander's first book for Sheed and Ward. Imprimataur.

Price: $85.00

See all items in Devotional, Marian, Mystic, Women
See all items by